Connect with us


A7FL Announces 2023 Season Awards as Las Vegas, New Jersey Split Honors, Florida Takes One Home

Celebrating the most thrilling season in A7FL history, the league has formally announced the 2023  individual awards winners, with Quatrell Huffin again headlining as the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Prior to the 2023 campaign, Quatrell Huffin appeared in four straight A7FL Championship games, winning in 2020 and 2021 as a member of the Paterson U.

Following the 2022 campaign, Huffin announced on the league’s 3 On 1 Podcast that he would be looking to win with cross-town rivals the Silk City Animals, who’d spent the last few seasons at the bottom of the table in the league’s oldest region.

But with Huffin at the helm not only at Quarterback but in the secondary, the Animals would start the season 4-0 and ending up at 5-2, earning a top-four seed in this past year’s playoffs.

It is hard to argue that without Huffin’s play in 2023, the Animals would be in a similar position that they were in years prior, which may have been the clincher over finalists Anthony “RTC” Wilkerson of the 2023 Champion Las Vegas Insomniacs and Tampa NightCrawlers star Mark Bagway.

Bagway would take home honors as the A7FL’s Offensive Player Of The Year for his game and internet-breaking ability to take over the game at Quarterback or anywhere else he lined up on the field.

In the 2023 playoffs, Bagway threw for 14, caught, and ran for two TDs in the Nightcrawlers’ attempt to be the first team from Florida to hold the A7FL Title.

Across the field, it would be one of the early favorites who walked away with the Defensive Player Of The Year honor, as the East Orange Renegades’ Trey Baskerville earned the honor off the back of performances against 2022 champions the Trenton BIC and Paterson U.

For the first time ever, the A7FL announced the Best 3-on-1 Returner in the league, and the man who set the Nevada division on fire in their Fall Brawl kept that energy as Sayvionne Cunningham of the Las Vegas Over The Top earned the nod.

Returning nearly a third of his runs into touchdowns, Cunningham’s speed and ability to get downfield was what had him stand out against finalists Donjae Lyons, Tiere Edwards and legendary returner Ashante Worthy.

With a statistically improbable season, Scott “Scooter” Hamilton of the 2023 Insomniacs was the A7FL Rookie Of The Year for 2023.

Making his full-season debut in our 2023 national season, Hamilton’s 31 passing touchdowns and one lone interception across the full 2023 campaign (Season and playoffs) and guiding one of the highest-scoring offenses in league history to the championship earned Hamilton the honor and then some.

The initial fan vote via our partners at UNYFY helped set the table for new opportunities such as the first-ever All-7 teams later in September, featuring the best of the best, with little doubt that these players will be in the mix.

Winners of A7FL 2023 Awards:

Most Valuable Player: Quatrell Huffin, Silk City Animals

Offensive Player:  Mark Bagway, Tampa Nightcrawlers

Defensive Player: Trey Baskerville, East Orange Renegades

Best Returner: Sayvionne Cunningham, Las Vegas Over The Top

Rookie  Of The Year: Scott Hamilton, Las Vegas Insomniacs

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Baltimore Watchmen vs Paterson U ()

Where To Watch

Where to Watch

Player Registration

Play in the A7FL

Gear Up

Sponsored By

Official A7FL 2024 Sponsor
Official A7FL Sponsor
Locticians Official A7FL Sponsor
Official A7FL Sponsor

Join Our Newsletter

More in News